Dr Dianne C McCarthy, Chair of Ageing Well National Science Challenge Governance Group, announced the new Directorate of Ageing Well on 2 April 2020.

Associate Professor Louise Parr-Brownlie (Ngāti Maniapoto me Te Arawa) has been appointed the Director and Professor David Baxter returned to the Directorate as Co-Director until 31 December 2020. Professor Debra Waters resigned from the Director role to focus on her national and international research projects. Louise and Dave thank Debra for her leadership and dedication to Ageing Well over the last 6 years. Louise commented that “over the next two years Ageing Well will be focusing on amplifying the impact of findings by our dedicated research teams. It is a pleasure to welcome Dave back to the team, and draw on his expertise as Ageing Well continues to provide evidence to help all New Zealanders to reach their full potential into the later years of life.”

Associate Professor Louise Parr-Brownlie
A/Prof Louise Parr-Brownlie
Prof David Baxter